Useless

I’d like to start off today with a discussion.

Have you ever felt useless?

I can bet you that quite a few of you have, and maybe more than you should.

I guess it’s something everyone has to deal with. Humanity is in such an evolved state, that with emotions such as empathy it would be strange if we didn’t feel so useless when you see such things as people dying on the news, hear stories of other people giving up to mental illnesses, cancer effecting so many people, third world countries struggling for things we take for granted each and every day. It makes our problems seem foolish, unworthy of being acknowledged, when so many people seem to ultimately have it worse (even if, in some cases, they don’t actually).

Most of all, I think, though, is that it makes our lives seem foolish. Because what have I done to help anyone? I sit here, worrying about my future. Worrying about past, future, present relationships with family and friends. Watching TV shows and reading books that just keep me entertained, while I turn a blind eye to the misfortune of others, and continue to pursue a career in something that won’t accomplish anything but grant me more money to spend on pointless books and TV shows.

Now, I could go on and on for ages and complain about how useless I feel. But the problem doesn’t reside there, it resides in the fact that I have no idea what to do to help anyone in these situations.

Yes, I can donate a few dollars to the homeless man on the street and feel like I’ve at least done something. I can offer the old lady my seat on the bus, or help that man carry his crutch up the stairs.

But it’s not enough.

I want to start my own charity, and become the most famous celebrity in the world so I can donate all of my money to girls who cannot afford education or drinking water. I want to do something that will impact and make other people’s lives better, somehow. Maybe that’s choosing a career that will allow for me to save lives in a hospital, or help mentally ill people as much as possible. I want to be able to do something, for the rest of my life, that really impacts the people I work with and allows me to help as many people as I can, in whatever way possible.

Have you ever felt useless? If so, how and why? What did you do that made you feel worth the while?

One thought on “Useless

  1. I think the feeling of uselessness easily parallels with that underline debate of the meaning of life. I find for me, I feel most useless not in the terms of world issues, but more the close knit issues. Ones where it totally is in my control to do something but I’m always one step behind to help or too blinded to realize they needed it. It’s those moments I feel most useless because it’s the reoccurring “I could have helped, I should have helped” kind of useless. It sucks, but I mean you can only learn from that and do better, make better choices, help who you can don’t dwell on who you cant.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

