What Does That Make Me?

I do see it differently,

The colour red, green and blue,

That shine so vibrantly in each other’s eyes,

Do lack their exiting pigment, when looking through my window.

What does that make me?

 

I do hear it differently,

The sound of laughter, sorrow, anger,

Jumbled in my head as if someone’s messed with my gears,

To laugh is to be angry, to cry is to show joy, to scream an expression of sadness.

What does that make me?

 

I do smell it differently,

The warmth you so enjoy, pressing to your nose,

Is repelling and sickening, flesh-tearingly disgusting,

So makes it that to feel the warmth of another person is excruciating and painful, in its own hypocritical way.

What does that make me?

 

Encompassing all that, I do feel it differently, 

The thoughts most experience foreign and difficult to understand,

An exasperating and fatiguing cycle of endless possibilities,

But what does that make me, if not human?

∞     ∞     ∞

{Sorry if this doesn’t make much sense. It does to me, I think, but such is the nature of poetry and it’s riddles. Hooray for writing that is technically good and well and proper but that may not make sense and is appreciated anyways. Goodness, this is why poetry is so beautiful isn’t it? Thanks for reading!}

16 thoughts on “What Does That Make Me?

  1. Life is one giant riddle experienced in billions of interpretations. Your experience and explanation expose the feelings of not knowing or trusting why life happens the way it does? Beautifully done♡

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Truth be told, I’m not completely sure what feelings it was meant to expose, but that definitely makes sense and I can totally see that. It definitely sounds like something that applies to me, so maybe that was what it was!
      And thanks so much, you have no idea how much it means to hear that!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a wonderful piece of writing!! ❤❤ So many thoughts from this piece!
    I found your little space in the community pool, so glad I did!! amazing write up!!!keep writing and inspire us…. surely will be waiting for more!!
    Please do visit my blog when time permits, thanks in advance and see you there! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

