The Sound of Silence

Don’t tell me it’s cute,

When you can’t tell the differences between my letters because of a shaking hand.

Don’t tell me I’ll get over it,

When the only foreseeable solution is to become non-existent.

Don’t tell me to relax,

When you can hear my heart beating from where I hide away.

It’s not the sound of classical music or nervous laughter or a tapping foot.

Its the sound of shattering glass, like the pieces of your mind,

It’s the sound of screaming because of the monster that whispers the doubts into your ears with a snide smile,

It’s the sound of muffled sobbing because when you can finally let it all out, it’s too much to handle.

But most of all, it’s the sound of silence.

 

2 thoughts on “The Sound of Silence

Leave a Reply

